Storybook Favorites

The three storybooks I am interested in are Dragons Around the WorldDesperate Goddesses: Life on Mythological Lane, and The Mermaid Diaries.

The first, Dragons Around the World, promises to look at the variety of dragons in different cultures and to examine four dragons specifically.  I became immediately interested in this storybook because of its topic.  Dragons interest me greatly–and what I find even more interesting are the various associations different cultures have with them.  I do not know much about dragons or the viewpoints many cultures hold regarding them.  While the title caught my attention, the author’s introduction retained it.  He or she compiled information in a stimulating story format.  I additionally like the simplicity of the blog and the placement and incorporation of images, a necessary element when discussing the supernatural.

The second, Desperate Goddesses, discusses the lives of several goddesses.  I became invested in this storybook because of its topic and not necessarily because of the Desperate Housewives format.  I know a little of this particular mythology, but I desire to know more.  I like the way the author created the design for the blog; it relies heavily on female stereotypes but still looks compelling.  All of the author’s notes give insight that I wouldn’t have expected; typically I like for stories to stand on their own, but the author’s notes take an important role in this blog entry.

Konstantin Makovski – Geburt der Aphrodite

My interest in the third storybook, The Mermaid Diaries, parallels my same desire to learn more of the goddesses.  The introduction for this storybook appears less appealing to me than the former two, but I do admire the design and the other content.  I am interested in the stories that will be told and in improving my limited knowledge that involves too extensively The Little Mermaid.

Leave a comment