Introduction

My name is Alice.  I am a Letters major and a sophomore.  Currently I am taking incredibly interesting classes, comprised of Italian Renaissance Art, Morality and Foreign Policy, Spanish, Latin, and Origins of Christianity.  I’ve now experienced the first days of all of these classes, and the pleasant first days I’ve had seem to promise future excitement and knowledge.  I’m involved in the Honors Student Association, Our Earth, and the Student Environmental Council.

This introduction seems to already be more intimate than many of my other introductions in classes, despite the fact that visual aspects are lacking.  I’ve never had to say more than my hometown, major, grade, and possibly something interesting about me.  Now I’m scraping together an introduction that more extensively looks into my life.  This feels personal, too, because I’m lying in my bed, finishing other homework and ultimately more soft/unguarded than I would feel in a classroom.

I’m currently reading The Lord of the Rings.  I finished The Two Towers earlier today, which I was excited about.  I’m going to rate it 5 stars on Goodreads!  I hope to start and finish the last installment of The Lord of the Rings soon, but I fear the vast free time I had over the break will soon be replaced with obligations, work, and challenges.

An interesting fact about myself is that just two days ago I purchased a candle.  My life has never before involved candles, but each time I come into my room I light it and find some weird sort of solace in this.  Perhaps I could intertwine this image of a candle that comforts me with greater symbols–light, good.  For now, though, I’m excited about this candle and the aroma that radiates from it.

A similar candle to mine

4 thoughts on “Introduction

  1. Oh wow, what a great list of classes, Alice! I am a big fan of Latin also. I’ve got a Latin blog that I have published for years, Bestiaria Latina which has Latin fables and proverbs, all just for fun. You might enjoy it!

    And I am a fan of candles too: I used to make candles when I was little. It is a fun hobby (esp. since you can add the aromas you like too), but a little messy, ha ha. For the candle image there, you need to remember to include image information with the web source where you found the image. It looks like maybe it came from Wikimedia ? One good use of Pinterest is to bookmark images so that you can always find the web source again later if you need to! 🙂

    Like

  2. Nice to meet you, Alice! I’m glad to hear that you are taking classes that interest you this semester. I’ve also been able to take courses this year that I’ve genuinely been interested in and I feel that it makes school and studying much easier.

    I absolutely agree that the introduction for this course feels much more personal and revealing than introductions done in other courses (despite the fact that we will probably never see our classmates face-to-face). When you only have 50 minutes per day, it’s hard for everyone in the class to explain what they’re like and really get to know each other. I’ve done the whole “name, major, hometown, interesting thing about you” process numerous times in college, so I really enjoyed writing my introductory blog post for this class.

    I can definitely relate to your dilemma concerning finding time to read for leisure during the semester. I started rereading the Harry Potter series over the break and I made it to Half-Blood Prince (the sixth book) but I don’t know if I will have a lot of time to finish it as well as the last book. I hope to read the LOTR series someday; I have a massive book containing all three parts, I just haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. I hope you manage to find time for reading outside of school!

    Like

  3. Hey Alice! I really enjoy this form of introduction myself. The age old introduction in the standard classroom seems to get boring and no one pays attention much to what is being said. I also like this way of an “about me” since I’m not the most fond of standing up and talking in front of the class!

    I am also a fan of Lord of the Rings. I have read all the books and seen all the movies. The Two Towers movie was my favorite of the trilogy. Reading is one of the things I enjoy to do although I don’t get to do it as much once school starts up.

    Like

Leave a comment